A: It’s simple! If you were unmarried from conception to birth, the mother and father can sign a document called an Acknowledgment of Paternity (AOP) stating the father is the biological parent. The parents must provide a photo ID and sign in the presence of a Notary.
Frequently Asked Questions
A: Yes. By completing the AOP you are creating a legal relationship between your child and his or her father. This ensures the father has legal rights to the child, should something unfortunate happen to the mother where she is unable to continue to care for the child. This assurance can only occur if paternity has previously been established.
A: Signing an AOP form does not affect benefits such as TANF (Temporary Assistance for Needy Families) or Medicaid.
A: It’s free if you complete the AOP in the hospital after your child’s birth. If you are unable to complete the AOP at the time of birth, you may return to the hospital at a later date or you may contact the Office of Vital Records (OVR), the Division of Child Support Enforcement (DCSE), or the local Department of Health (DOH) to complete an AOP. You may also mail your completed AOP directly to our office at P.O. Box 8270 Richmond, VA 23226. After 7 days from the birth of the child, a $10l fee is required by the OVR to include the father on his child’s birth certificate. This is in addition to the $12 fee for a copy of the birth certificate. You will be required to pay these fees prior to receiving a birth certificate to include the father’s name— so be sure to save time and money by completing the AOP before leaving the hospital!
A: If you are unmarried at the time of your child’s birth, the biological father’s name will not be included on the child’s birth certificate without both parents completing an acknowledgment of paternity form. You and the biological father simply sign the AOP in the presence of a Notary. The birth registrar will help you fill out this form and answer any questions you may have.
A: Yes. In the Commonwealth of Virginia, you may name your child anything you like at the time of birth. You are not restricted to using only your maiden name as the child’s last name, as it is in some states. If both parents sign an AOP form, they may indicate how the child’s name should appear on the birth certificate.
Q: What if one parent is unavailable (military, incarcerated, works out of state, etc.) at the time of birth to sign an AOP?
A: You have two options to complete the voluntary acknowledgment of paternity.
- Option 1: The AOP may be completed at the hospital by the parent who is available. This AOP will then be sent to the parent who is unavailable so that their portion may be completed and their signature notarized.
- Option 2: Each parent may complete a separate form and have it notarized. The information on both forms must match and be stapled together. The completed AOP(s) should then be submitted to the birthing hospital or mailed to the VPEP office at PO Box 8270 Richmond, VA 23226
A: If the mother is married, paternity cannot be established by voluntarily signing an AOP form. If you are married at the time of birth or anytime in the ten months before the birth of your child, the Commonwealth of Virginia requires that the husband or ex-husband be presumed to be the father of your child. You must contact your local Circuit Court and/or Juvenile & Domestic Relations Court to legally establish paternity for the biological father. Visit this website for additional information: http://www.courts.state.va.us/courts/jdr.html, or the DVR at 804.662-6200.
A: Parental permission is not needed for minors to voluntarily establish paternity in the Commonwealth of Virginia.
A: No. Paternity establishment has nothing to do with your citizenship status. Paternity can be established using an AOP form for any child born to unmarried parents in the Commonwealth of Virginia.
A: The information on your AOP form is confidential. Once completed, the form is submitted to the Office of Vital Records, and only the Department of Child Support Enforcement and the Paternity Establishment Program have access to the information. No other federal or state agencies are allowed to obtain this information.
A: No, not unless the mother applies for Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) services; then the case will be referred to DCSE and she will be required to cooperate by identifying the father.
A: Both parents are expected to financially support their child. In most cases the non-custodial parent (the one the child does not live with) is expected to assist with financial support. This arrangement can be between the parents or it can involve DCSE or the courts. For additional information please call 1.800.468.8894 or visit DCSE on the web at: http://www.dss.virginia.gov/family/dcse.html
A: Either parent may cancel or “rescind” the AOP by completing a form and filing it with the OVR within 60 days from the date of the last notarized signature, unless a court order has been entered for the child during the 60 days. Rescission forms are only available at the OVR and local Health Departments. Once this form has been filed, you must also contact your local Juvenile & Domestic Relations Court system for additional instructions.